Posted by: alexswallow | November 28, 2013

Very proud to be listed as one of the top Charity Chief Execs on Social Media

Last week a list of the top 30 Charity Chief Execs on Social Media was announced and I was thrilled to be on it.

The list is explained here by Zoe Amar and also here by Matt Collins . Zoe and Matt put together everything with a great team of volunteers- including Simon Blake, Lucy Caldicott and Abbi Davies.

The initiative was covered in both Civil Society and Third Sector and Zoe herself wrote an excellent piece for the Guardian. It was a real pioneering effort and, I believe, a very positive thing for our sector.

I was very pleased to be in such esteemed company. Other Chief Executives listed were people such as Peter Wanless of NSPCC, Julia Unwin of Joseph Rowntree, Mark Flannagan of Beating Bowel Cancer, Ciaran Devane of Macmillan, Ben Summerskill of Stonewall, Dalton Leong of The Children’s Trust, Matt Hyde of UK Scouting, Caron Bradshaw of CFG and Vicky Browning of Charity Comms and many brilliant others. Speaking with my Young Charity Trustees’ Hat on it was good to see Gary Buxton, Charlotte Hill and Louise Macdonald mentioned.

As well as being listed as part of the top 30, I was very pleased to speak at the Awards event on behalf of the Small Charities Coalition, emphasizing how social media had helped me, how it could help the sector and how small charities could use it to their advantage. I also wrote a piece for the social media publication linked to the event- on blogging! Another contributor to the publication was Ben Matthews, someone I always enjoy learning from and a lovely bloke to boot.

I have already written about how I think that small charities can get a lot out of social media. I was very pleased that many of the ‘top’ Execs are from smaller charities and hope that Zoe and Matt’s brilliant initiative prompts more small charities to think about how they engage online.

Of course, a charity having an effective media presence is never going to be just about the Chief Executive. For a start, many of the people who use social media most brilliantly in our sector are of course not Chief Executives (though I’m sure many of them will be one day!). But social media can only work its wonders when a decent amount of people in any organisation understand it and care about it. The point about celebrating Chief Execs who ‘get’ it are that they will hopefully inspire and encourage others to make a contribution online. Every day that I use social media I learn something new. I pick up things from different people, I see individuals and organisations who use different platforms a lot more skillfully than I do. Social media is never a destination, it’s a journey. Please join me!


Responses

  1. Congratulations Alex – it is well deserved!

  2. […] Being voted one of the top social media charity CEOs- I love social media and was very proud our small charity got a […]

  3. […] – As part of the associated publication for the launch of the Top Charity Chief Execs on Social Media. […]

  4. […] general ideas about how charities, even the smallest ones, can use social media to their advantage. Here is a list of the Chief Execs who were judged to be good at using social media (and I was very proud to be among them). To follow […]

  5. […] machine), the day kicked off with a speech from Vicky Browning, Charity Comms Director (and fellow Top 30 Social Chief Exec). I find Vicky really inspiring and her enthusiasm for her work and her belief in the importance of […]

  6. […] During the year I was really pleased to get a mention as one of the new entrants on the Amazon PR Blog ‘Top of the Blogs’- and of course to make the list of the Top 30 Social CEOs. […]

  7. […] about why small charities matter, about Board Diversity and young trustees, about the importance of social media for social good and the need to try to get great people involved in the charity […]

  8. […] Winning last year was a highlight of 2013 for me and I am excited to be able to spread the word about this year’s competition. […]

  9. […] As many of my readers will know, I am passionate about the charity sector, about leadership, and about career development. I have already written about how to become a charity Chief Executive and the importance of using social media in a leadership role. […]

  10. […] If you would like to learn more, the hashtag on Twitter  is #socvweekend. As someone who is a big advocate of social media for social good, it was great to see it in […]

  11. […] The event is about how, as a charity leader, you use social media to your best advantage. This is something I am a very keen advocate of myself. […]

  12. […] website will help me with. My online efforts have helped me to try to build a personal brand via social media, including blogging, and helping to set the agenda for issues I care about. I’ve found […]

  13. […] CEOs was revealed and I just wanted to make sure that my blog’s readers heard about it. I was very proud to be on the list last year, the first year of the […]


Leave a comment

Categories