Posted by: alexswallow | July 6, 2014

My First Event With London Young Charity Professionals (LYCP)

LYCP (2)

This week I went to my first event for London Young Charity Professionals, for which I am an Advisor. It was only the second meeting of the new group.

We had a great venue- a private room in Browns Covent Garden- in fact it was an old courtroom!

I met some really interesting new people and managed to discuss topics including:

– The power of Community Organisers

– Gender in the charity sector

– Digital management in a big charity

– How much fun Glastonbury was this year

– How LYCP can make a real difference to the sector

all while drinking some delicious beer (including a freebie from the kind barman). I came away feeling inspired, wishing I had had something like LYCP when I joined the sector (and when I was younger!) and excited about the potential of the group.

The meet-ups are on the first Thursday of each month. For more details please look at (and join!) the LinkedIn group.

Hope to see you at one of them!

Leave a Reply

Categories

