Posted by: Alexander Swallow | May 13, 2013

Thoughts from a twentysomething on Meg Jay’s talk on twentysomethings

alexswallow:

Fascinating blog about leadership and aspiration for young women.

Originally posted on TED Blog:

Meg-Jay-at-TED2013

Meg Jay gave a talk at TED2013 suggesting that the 20s are a person’s defining decade — and it started a heated debate at the office. Here, a 20-something responds. Photo: James Duncan Davidson

I’m 24 and a woman, and that makes me a target for a lot of speculation and life advice. Sheryl Sandberg wants me to lean in to become a woman leader; Anne-Marie Slaughter says my lady parts may doom me to a half-fulfilled life; Susan Patton thinks I should have spent my time at Princeton looking for a husband (ideally one of her sons); and in TIME Magazine’s most recent cover story, Joel Stein suggests that I’m narcissistic and dying to be famous. Everyone’s talking about me.

And people wonder why millennials are so self-involved.

[ted_talkteaser id=1741]Now I can add clinical psychologist Meg Jay, who gave today’s talk, to the list of well-intentioned…

View original 1,241 more words

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 9,948 other followers

